Memory Gap

Daily Prompt: Apply Yourself
Describe your last attempt to learn something that did not come easily to you.

— Hmm. The last attempt to learn something that did not come very easily to me was the last time I memorized the script and lyrics for a musical I’m in.

It is really one of my weakness: to memorize. I have never been the person to memorize words. This is why I see myself as a math/physics person, where I just understand theories and then manipulate or apply it to problems.

So I tried to use the same concept to memorizing the script and songs. First, understand the scene… and I did. But it was hard to use this understanding because I cannot ad lib. I must use the exact words. Plus, they are in deep Filipino, which I am never really confident with.

It was really hard but I got through it. But every time there is a new script and new song to learn, my fear of memorizing them precedes the fear of actually performing them.

Leave a Reply

