Childhood Revisited

Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited

Sure, you turned out pretty good, but is there anything you wish had been different about your childhood? If you have kids, is there anything you wish were different for them?

I have no major complaints about my childhood.
I had the most amazing childhood memories of fun and inventive summers, coolest friends, and best parents ever.

Every time I go home for a vacation (however brief), my childhood friends and I make it a point to see each other. And every time, we reminisce all the fun, stupid, and weird things we did as children.

The silly fights.
The play houses, restaurants, schools, and games we imagined and built together.
The hatred for when school starts.

However, when school began, I started to not hate it all that much because I realized that I will get to have new school things, meet my friends at school, and join school activities we’ve been waiting for the year before.

Looking back, I really missed being a kid, which is weird.
Because when I was a kid, I couldn’t wait to grow up and finish school and have a job.
Now that I’ve done all that, I wish to be that kid again minus the dreaming of growing up.
I still feel like a kid, though. But it’s hard to keep those feelings of youth when you have to face grown up issues and problems.

*Sigh*
Kids don’t know how lucky they are to have just kid problems.
Life was so much easier.

(Well, minus the kids that have to work in a very early age or with similar problems. I think that is so unfair. Kids should experience to be carefree even just for a while, until they get to face the real world.)

Anyway, I’m digressing from the topic.

My childhood was pretty amazing but it wasn’t perfect.
If had to change some things, these will probably the following:

1. I wished we were picked up earlier after school.

These were really one of the worst memories I had as a child. I remember, my sister and I were always the last ones at the school waiting for our father. There was a time in first grade (my sister was in kindergarten) when I was so mad and convinced that he forgot about us that I dragged my sister out of the campus to walk home. Halfway, we were picked up by my classmate and her family and they brought us home. Of course, my parents were furious when we arrived. I took a major scolding that night.

I never really got to ask my father why he was never on time because this changed when we got older, which was already useless because we could actually go home alone by that time.

2. I wished we had the resources to take up after-school or extra-curricular lessons.

Some kids don’t realize how lucky they are that their parents sign them up for piano lessons or dance classes. When I was young, I envied my friends and cousins who got these opportunities but just wasted them. They were always complaining that instead of playing outside, they have to go get their lessons. If only we had the money, I would gladly take their place every time.

What my sisters and I did is that we studied on our own. We learned the things we wanted to do but never really proficient.

3. I wished I drank milk more!

One thing you should know about me is that I’m super skinny.
I am so skinny that people think I am sick or have an eating disorder or something.
I wish I had though, so that I can finally give them an explanation and I would know what to do to get myself fatter.
And what I hate the most is that people really don’t give a second thought at saying you look like an anorexic but it would be already be offensive to call someone chubby, let alone, fat! You’ve got to realize, people, that it hurts the ego and confidence just the same.

So anyway, I just wished I drank milk when my parents say to drink it. Maybe it would have made a difference (not that I think it would).

Anyway, what’s done is done.
Forget regret. And I did.
What we have is now.
I’m super thankful for the wonderful memories from my childhood.
It really did make me turn out okay.

Leave a Reply

