Cupid’s Arrow

Daily Prompt: Cupid’s Arrow

It’s Valentine’s Day, so write an ode to someone or something you love. Bonus points for poetry!

This daily prompt really got me stumped.
I’m not really touchy-feely when it comes to love.
Some might say I’m cynical about it. (I’m changing that, promise!)

It is weird because I am such a sucker for romantic comedies and love stories and love songs.
I’m like a wide-eyed puppy getting lost in Jane Austen, dramatic and tragic operas.
But when it comes to real life, I can’t help but scoff and raise an eyebrow at it.

Maybe that’s just it.
I see love as an element of fiction.
Like magic or alternate worlds, they are nice to visit, imagine, and wish they come true.
But, in reality, love is hard work.
Whoever or whatever it is you love, you really got to work at keeping the love alive.

Yes, I think love does exist.
I just don’t think I’m cut out for all the stress and pain it comes with.
Not yet, anyway.

One thought on “Cupid’s Arrow

  1. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – 14 Words For Love – The Definitive Collection | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

