The Transporter

Nothing transports me back to my past better than smelling something familiar.

A whiff of a former love/crush’s cologne.
A barbecue aroma in the center of my college quad.
A smoker’s breath after finishing a stick.

My memory is always strongly guided by my sense of smell, which in turn also heightens my sense of taste. This has been the culprit for me craving food occasionally from a certain fast food chain.

20130409-231613.jpg

20130409-231557.jpg

Getting to smell Jollibee’s Chickenjoy (a meal consisting of fried chicken with rice and gravy) instantly transports me back to my childhood. And getting to finally taste it again will flood me with different stories to tell involving the family, major childhood events, and chickenjoy.

So, no matter how I seem to think I’m fed up of eating it, one smell and I’m already coming back for more. I know I’m not the only one alone in this. Ask Filipinos who were raised in the Philippines, girl or boy, rich or poor, we all have our own Jollibee and chickenjoy stories. And even kids today, they still continue to create their stories with the store and food.

**This post is not a paid ad or anything. This is in response to Daily Prompt: The Transporter.

One thought on “The Transporter

  1. Pingback: Never Get Board of the Past | Keyboard Pizza

Leave a Reply

